Congratulations to three scientists and CMS members, Emanuela Barberis, Kevin Burkett and Karl M. Ecklund who have been elected as American Physical Society (APS) Fellows in 2020 for their exceptional contributions to the field of physics.

Fellowship is one of the highest levels of professional recognition conferred by APS and by their professional peers. Since 1921 this award of recognition has been given to those who have had exceptional physics research or contributions to important research or technology developments. Fellowship can also be awarded to those who have had leadership in physics or provided substantial contributions to physics education.

Barberis, Emanuela

Professor of Physics, Northeastern University

For work on precision measurements of the top quark, studies of the strong force, and searches for new particles using events produced in hadronic collisions containing a lepton and a jet at the FNAL Tevatron and CERN's Large Hadron Collider.

Burkett, Kevin

Senior Scientist and Deputy Division Head, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory

For critical work on tracking devices and track reconstruction in hadron collider detectors, and for major contributions in Higgs and Beyond the Standard Model physics at the Collider Detector at Fermilab and Compact Muon Solenoid.

Ecklund, Karl

Professor of Physics and Astronomy, Rice University

For leadership in high-precision particle-tracking detectors using pixel technology, and in the measurement of top- and bottom-quark properties in both e+e- and hadron collider experiments.

Tags / keywords