Congratulations to five CMS scientists, Tulika Bose, Yuri Gershtein, Andrei Gritsan, George Wei-Shu Hou and Markus Klute, who were elected as American Physical Society (APS) Fellows in 2019 for their exceptional contributions to the field of physics.


The APS Fellowship is a distinct honor signifying recognition by one's professional peers. The program was created in 1921 to recognize members for their exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise; e.g., outstanding physics research, important applications of physics, leadership in or service to physics, or significant contributions to physics education.


Tulika Bose

Professor of Physics, University of Wisconsin–Madison

For leadership coordinating the CMS physics program and trigger system, and for contributions to the development of high level triggers and searches for heavy vector bosons and vector-like quarks.


Yuri Gershtein

Professor of Physics, Rutgers University

For important contributions to searches for physics beyond the Standard Model at both the Tevatron and the Large Hadron Collider, and for developing innovative techniques for precision photon measurement that directly contributed to the Higgs boson discovery.


Andrei Gritsan

Professor of Physics, Johns Hopkins University

For significant contributions to the discovery and to the characterization of the Higgs Boson at the CERN Large Hadron Collider, and for significant contributions to the measurement of sin2alpha at the SLAC PEP II collider.


George Wei-Shu Hou

Professor of Physics, National Taiwan University

For novel contributions to the theory of flavor and charge-parity violation, and for his role in initiating Taiwan's experimental collaboration with Belle and CMS.


Markus Klute

Professor of Physics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

For work establishing the coupling of the Higgs boson to tau leptons, and for establishing the physics case for colliders beyond the Large Hadron Collider, including the High Luminosity LHC.