Achievement Awards 2019


Tongguang Cheng Purdue Univ. Northwest

For his decisive role and achievements in the Alignment Calibration and Database group, first as AlCa-HLT contact to coordinate on the event selection needed to calibrate CMS, and then as leader of the AlCaDB group, and for the development and commissioning of the automated workflow determining the pixel quality during data taking.

Efe Yazgan Chinese Academy of Sciences

For his work in the validation tools for generators and for sample production.

Sergio Sanchez Cruz Univ. de Oviedo

For his significant developments in muon identification, and prompt feedback tools, as well as his contributions to the triggering of muons, the determination of efficiencies in the current trigger, the preparation and deployment of new triggers and the study of the phase-2 L1 trigger upgrade.


Barbara Alvarez Univ. de Oviedo

For her outstanding contributions to the analysis of accelerated aging of DT chambers at GIF++.

Andrea Gelmi INFN For his significant contributions, including the definition of the detector specifications and the study of the improved detector for the high eta region, for the upgrade of the RPC muon system.
Nicholas Manganelli Univ. of California, Riverside For his leadership of testing at SX5 for the MEx/1 chambers and his work as CSC Run Coordinator.


Laurent Forthomme Helsinki Institute of Physics For his outstanding contribution to the PPS software development throughout Run 2 and for the CMS ultra-legacy reprocessing.
Pavel Parygin National Research Nuclear Univ.

For his sustained and dedicated efforts on the commissioning for the newly installed Phase-1 on-detector electronics of the HCAL and in preparing the detector for the participation in mid-week global runs.


Thiago Tomei UNESP

For his sustained efforts over many years to ensure the well running of the trigger system, making key contributions in ensuring the calibration needs of the detector were handled as ALCA-HLT convenor, in the physics needs of the experiment as EXO-HLT convenor, in online operations as a member of the FOG and to the future of the HLT with his leadership of the TSG Upgrade group.


Klaas Padeken Vanderbilt Univ.

For outstanding leadership and contributions to the commissioning, data acquisition, and operation of the CMS pixel detector.

Jory Sonneveld Hamburg Univ. For outstanding contributions to and demonstrated leadership in all areas concerning the operation of the CMS pixel detector.


Shilpi Jain Univ. of Minnesota

For her essential role in providing crucial ingredients for the derivation of the Run 2 refined calibration (ultra-legacy) for ECAL, with scrupulous work and tireless dedication.

Fabio Monti INFN, Milano-Bicocca For his precise, timely, and committed work on ECAL calibration and scale monitoring using e/p from W->ev events, which has also allowed to tackle and correct for the subtleties of the ECAL monitoring system.


Aleko Khukhunaishvili Univ. of Rochester For his crucial contributions to the Phase I upgrade of HCAL.
Jay Lawhorn CalTech For his invaluable contributions to improving the performance of the HCAL online and offline reconstruction, including playing a leading role in the development, validation, and deployment of the code (“MAHI”) for Run 2.
Christopher Madrid Baylor Univ.

For his extensive contributions to several aspects of the HCAL Barrel and Endcap upgrades, including testing QIE cards at Fermilab, assembling and testing electronics modules at CERN, and carrying out the actual installation in CMS.


Merijn van de Klundert DESY For his several year long critical contributions to the success of the CASTOR experiment, spanning many activities including multiple detector installations, integration in the CMS DAQ/DCS/Trigger systems, commissioning and operation, calibration and performance, as well as leading contributions to data analysis and the overall CASTOR physics program.


Maral Alyari Fermilab

For her excellent contributions to the engineering of HGCAL, including the critical work on designing, prototyping and testing the mockup cassette.


Frigyes Janos Nemes Wigner Research Centre for Physics, Eszterhazy University For his innovative, original and careful determination of the LHC optics from the PPS data, a key ingredient for all analyses based on PPS information.
Ksenia Shchelina LIP

For her contribution to the exclusive di-lepton analysis which has allowed important improvements of the PPS calibration. In her role as Proton POG co-convenor, she is contributing in an essential way to making the proton information available to analyzers outside the PPS community.


Thong Nguyen CalTech For his role in providing daily support for MC production and Data re-reco activities.
Valentin Kuznetsov Cornell Univ. For his dedication in preparing the K8s infrastructure for the CMSWeb migration.
Jonas Rembser CNRS/POLYTECHNIQUE For the work on E/gamma, particle flow reconstruction, analysis software and general CMSSW code modernization, refactoring, and updates.


Davide Bozzato CERN

For his dedication to benchmarking the CMS FLUKA residual radiation field, his extensive activation studies for LS3 and his contributions to radiation simulation.


Siddhesh Gopichant Sawant TATA institute For the MC submission,  organization and support of the MC campaigns for different TDRs in his role as UPSG PPD contact person.


Cristina Vazquez Velez CERN For the excellent work on the functional and performance enhancements of the Detector Control System.


Aaron Bundock Imperial College For crucial contributions to the Level-1 Calorimeter Trigger and Phase-2 upgrade studies.
Luca Cadamuro Univ. of Florida For important contributions to Level-1 Tau Trigger and Phase-2 EndCap Muon Trigger studies.