Achievement Awards 2018

​ ​ ​

Run Coordination

Chiara Rovelli Roma   For outstanding and committed leadership of the ECAL detector performance group, which led to excellent detector performance under the challenge of increasing luminosity conditions in Run 2.
Benedikt Voldwald Hamburg U.   For sustained and dedicated efforts to improve the operational efficiency of the pixel detectors, particularly after the DCDC challenges, and for playing a leading role in ensuring the highest possible uptime and data quality, enabling smooth operations in 2018. 
Mehar Ali Shah Islamabad   For outstanding contributions to the excellent operation of the RPC system during Run 2 of the LHC, and for playing major roles in detector performance analyses, including a significant role in the RPC aging studies. 

Trigger Coordination

Yi Chen CERN   For support in the preparation, deployment and operation of all trigger menus for Heavy Ion related data taking, leading to the success of the Heavy Ion programme in the last few years. 
Mohammed Rashad Darwish Antwerpen   For continuous support to the CMS data taking as HLT DOC, being one of the main players who made possible the excellent HLT performance in 2018
Kyeongpil Lee Seoul   For playing a major role in the recent developments of the muon HLT reconstruction and in all related studies, which in 2018 allowed CMS to overcome all previous limitations. 


Olena Karacheban CERN   For consolidation of the VDM scan framework: in particular the Emittance Scan online analysis, leading to a complete new set of tools to measure stability and linearity, improving understanding of luminosity systematics. 

Andrés Delannoy Sotomayor

Tennessee   For steering the PLT operation in Run 2 and for planning the PLT rebuild to take place in LS2. 


Alexander Grohsjean DESY   For pioneering the implementation of new MC generators and productions at CMS, for the work on event generator validation, and for providing tools and continued support to the operations of MC contacts. 
Marcel Andre Schneider CERN   For playing a major role in the Data Quality Monitoring group by refactoring its software infrastructure to meet increasing demands of monitoring information, and for support to the operations during 2018 data taking. 

Offline & Computing

Diego Dávila Puebla   For running and greatly improving the CMS submission infrastructure, including commissioning the new CERN storage pool. 

Rokas Maciulaitis

Vilnius U.   For excellent contributions to the Facilities group in Software and Computing. 

Daniel Abercrombie

MIT   For development of the site consistency tool and automatic workflow recovery tools for Software and Computing. 


Álvaro Navarro Tobar

Madrid/ CIEMAT   For sustained and outstanding contributions to the CMS Muon DT Phase 1 upgrade, including development of important firmware and of online software. 

Jan Eysermans

Puebla   For outstanding contributions to the Detector Control System of RPC, and for the key role in the R&D for Phase 2 Upgrade for the RPC detectors. 
Chad Freer Northeastern U.   For playing a crucial role as CSC and EMTF liaison, and for creativity and determination with in-depth studies toward understanding a number of complex phenomena relating CSC and EMTF systems.
Tao Huang Texas/ TAMU   For outstanding dedication and leadership in developing, upgrading and validating the CSC Optical Trigger Motherboard electronics for the ME1/1 trigger and readout system for the HLLHC.


Tatjana Susa Zagreb/ RUDJER   For outstanding contributions to the pixel detector offline calibrations, reconstruction and simulation in Run 2.
Raffaele Gerosa USCD   For outstanding contributions to the Silicon Tracker commissioning software, to online calibrations during data taking, and for leadership in the Tracker DAQ group. 
Sarah Seif el Nasr-Storey Bristol   For outstanding contributions to the development and validation of the tracker front-end systems in 2017 and 2018. 


Michael Benjamin Andrews Carnegie Mellon U.   For outstanding and dedicated contributions to ECAL Run Coordination during CMS Run II.
Badder Marzocci Roma   For excellent coordination of the ECAL Monitoring and Calibration group that led to the computation of the inter-calibration constants for ECAL during Run 2. 
Tanmay Mudholkar Carnegie Mellon U.   For invaluable participation in the ECAL datataking in Run 2, ensuring optimal ECAL data quality monitoring. 


Maria Toms Moscow/ ITEP   For leadership in HCAL operations and detector infrastructure, and for major contributions to the Detector Control System, Safety System, and HE source calibration system. 
John Hakala Brown U.   For years of contributions to many aspects of HCAL detector operation, most notably online software, and for contributions to the development of Method 3 HCAL local reconstruction code for the HLT. 
Christopher West Alabama U.    For leadership of the HCAL DPG trigger group through the Phase 1 upgrades of the HF and HE detectors, for direct improvements to the online and offline HCAL trigger, and important contributions to HCAL online software and operations. 


Artur Lobanov Polytechnique   For outstanding contributions to many HGCAL activities, including electronics evaluation, beam tests and particle identification. 
William Ortez UCSB   For outstanding work in transforming bespoke HGCAL silicon module assembly into a production reality.
Tommaso Vergine CERN   For excellent work on aspects related to the HGCAL front-end electronics, including the critical "Hexaboard”. 


Marco Toliman Lucchini Princeton   For critical contributions to the barrel timing detector sensor development, for comprehensive organization of the TDR studies, and for test beam evaluations of the crystals, light collection and overall sensor performance. 
Valentina Sola Torino   For extraordinary work on the development of the endcap timing layer UFSD sensors, including measuring their properties, organising irradiation campaigns, and beam tests. 
Bennett March UCSB   For broad contributions to the endcap timing layer detector spanning bench tests of sensor performance, test beam work, DQM tools, and TDR studies for design and performance optimization based on detector resolution and efficiency. 


Maria Cepeda CERN   For shepherding to successful completion an array of topics on Higgs physics sensitivities for the four TDRs, the MTD TP, and the Yellow report for the European Strategy Group. 
Juliette Alimena Ohio State U.   For shepherding to successful completion an array of topics on BSM physics sensitivities for the four TDRs, the MTD TP, and the Yellow report for the European Strategy Group.
Julie Managan Hogan Brown U./ Bethel   For providing continuous support in processing of the Upgrade MC samples via Delphes.


Edoardo Bossini CERN   For outstanding contributions to the trigger and to the timing performance characterization of the PPS detectors. 
Jan Kaspar CERN   For outstanding contributions to the reconstruction software and systematic detector alignment applied to the PPS data.


Maciej Gladki CERN   For development of the DAQ Expert tool that has improved CMS data taking efficiency by giving instant advice to the shift crew in case of problems. 
Christian Wernet Fermilab   For significant contributions to the development of an efficient RESTful API for the new CMS Online Monitoring System (OMS).


Jaana Kristiina Heikkilae Helsinki/ HIP   For exceptional work in establishing and running the Level-1 trigger Data Certification team. 
Santeri Laurila Helsinki/ HIP   For exceptional work in establishing and running the Level-1 trigger Data Certification team. 


Nicholas Smith Wisconsin   For seminal and outstanding contributions to the Level-1 trigger, including a leading role in studies of the L1 EM calorimeter pre-firing.
Olivier Davignon Bristol   For outstanding contributions to the Level-1 calorimeter trigger, in particular triggering on tau leptons.