Achievement Awards 2017

​ ​ ​


Philipp Brummer CERN   For outstanding contributions to the Run Control System of CMS, which resulted in powerful diagnostic tools and an improved operations efficiency.

Run Coordination

Josh Kunkle U. Maryland   For sustained and critical contributions to leading HCAL Operations, and for dedication to the running of the CMS experiment.

Run Coordination / Trigger (joint)

Sara Fiorendi INFN Milano-Bicocca   For dedicated and outstanding work on the measurement of the CMS luminous region; for major contributions to the development and maintenance of the HLT muon reconstruction; and for the development and support of many HLT paths involving muons.


Laurent Thomas Bruxelles, Florida pstatus For playing a major role in the development and checks of the SUSY HLT trigger paths, and for contributions to many different aspects of the TSG activities.
Zhenyu Chen Rice University postdoc For playing a major role in the preparation, deployment and operation of all trigger menus related to the Heavy Ion running in the last few years.

Level 1 Trigger

Thomas Reis CERN postdoc For exceptional contributions to the Level-1 Muon Trigger.
Pierluigi Bortignon Florida doctoral student For exceptional leadership of the Level-1 Trigger Detector Performance Group.


Diego Figueiredo U. Rio de Janeiro postdoc For outstanding contributions in the development, commissioning and operation of the data acquisition system of the CT-PPS detectors.
Nicola Minafra U. Kansas   For exceptional dedication and creativity in the design, construction, and integration of fast timing detectors into CT- PPS.


Peter Tsrunchev U. Sofia   The development of almost real-time analysis of the CMS emittance scans allowing for prompt monitoring of the stability of the online luminosity calibration and rapid identification of problems.
Jonas Daugalas Vilnius U. postdoc For developing novel web- monitoring tools of BRIL data based on elastic-search database technology that has enabled the remote visualization and analysis of detector data in real-time.
Chris Palmer Princeton   For leading contributions to Luminosity measurement using Pixel Cluster Counting Analysis and HF Transverse Energy Algorithms and leadership in the Luminosity Calibration.


Gurpreet Singh Chahal (Chulalongkorn U.,Durham, ICL   For leadership in the Physics Data Monte Carlo Validation team, and for outstanding contributions to management of the production of CMS Monte Carlo events and, in particular, for his dedication to the production of upgrade samples for the preparation of the Phase-2 TDRs.
Arun Kumar NTU pstatus For leadership in the Alignment Calibration and Database team; impact on the preparation of the legacy re-reconstruction of the 2016 data; preparation of the data-taking and operation condition updates during the 2017 run.

Offline S&C

Todor Ivanov U. Sofia   "For running and improving the CMS Distributed Analysis infrastructure.
Kevin Pedro Fermilab   For outstanding work on and leadership of the software for the CMS upgrades.
Yutaro Iiyama MIT   For outstanding work as Data Transfer coordinator, operator and architect of the high impact dynamic data management tool Dynamo.


Jeremie Alexander Merlin CERN   For significant contributions to aging and discharge studies of GEM detectors; for his role in driving the construction and validation of the GE1/1 slice test chambers; and for optimization of quality control procedures for the production of GE1/1 detectors for LS2 installation.
David Morse Northeastern U.   For leading the CSC electronics testing and diagnostic facility throughout Run 1 and 2, and for outstanding contribution to the planning and coordination of the CSC upgrade work during LS2.
Luca Pernie (Texas A&M)   For driving a major overhaul of the muon alignment system over several years, and for the development and maintenance of software enabling delivery of high quality alignment geometries throughout 2016-17.


Stefanos Leontsinis CU Boulder   For playing an important role as Pixel detector Run Field Manager and Technical Field Coordinator since June 2016, including the preparation for and the execution of the extraction of the old detector and the installation, commissioning and debugging of the new pixel detector.
Matthias Schroeder Karlsruhe U.   For convening the Tracker alignment group since 2015, and for carefully preparing the alignment of the new pixel detector within a few weeks after the start of the 2017.
Adish Vartak UC San Diego   For coordinating the Strip Tracker DAQ group under increased load, maintaining very high-quality tuning of the detector, and ensuring smooth running throughout the whole year.


Andrea Massironi Northeastern U.   For outstanding work on the ECAL performance, for the development of the ECAL alignment procedure and for dedicated support of the data acquisition system.
Simone Pigazzini INFN Milano-Bicocca   For dedication to understanding the evolution of the ECAL response & for outstanding contribution to the ECAL Upgrade test beams.


Pavel Bunin JINR   For leading contributions to the preparation and operation of the HE Phase-1 burn-in facility, and the upgrade of a wedge of HE in CMS in EYETS 2016/17.
Stefan Obraztsov SINP MSU   For playing a major role in the extensive HE and HF radioactive source campaigns of EYETS 2016/17. This helped enable full-scale data-taking with a radioactive source.
Nathaniel Joseph Pastika Baylor U.   For outstanding contributions to the testing and commissioning of the HCAL Phase-1 front-end electronics, from the early stages of development to the final integration.


Florian Pitters CERN   For outstanding contributions to HGCAL sensor characterisation measurements at CERN, ensuring consistent, well- understood results, and establishing procedures for the full campaign of sensor testing and radiation qualification.
Eva Sicking CERN   For initiating and leading HGCAL sensor testing at CERN, enabling both in-depth sensor characterisation, and development and demonstration of novel large-area probe cards for full size 6” and 8” sensors.


Simone Pigazzini INFN Milano-Bicocca   For invaluable contributions to the MIP Timing Detector technical proposal, with detailed simulation studies and with significant work on the development of the DAQ and offline framework for test beam data analysis.
Artur Apreysan Fermilab   For technical leadership of and critical contributions to the MIP Timing Detector technical proposal, through his organization of beam tests for UFSD sensor characterization, and in ensuring the delivery of the mechanical designs and thermal simulations necessary to prove the feasibility of the TE.


Sandhya Jain Tata Institute   For playing a key role in the production of the Monte Carlo samples for all Phase-2 sub-system simulations studies for TDRs.
Jan Kieseler CERN   For playing a key role in providing the analysis infrastructure for users throughout all of the Phase-2 TDR MC campaigns.
Katja Klein RWTH-1   For playing a crucial role in editing the Tracker Upgrade TDR, while simultaneously commissioning a new documentation format.
Sven Dildick Texas A&M   For major developments in muon reconstruction in preparation of the Phase-2 TDR.