Achievement Awards for CMS Construction

After many years of very careful and innovative work, the CMS collaboration has successfully constructed an outstanding LHC detector that fully meets the vision and performance requirements conceived at the start of CMS. Many people have committed a significant fraction of their working lives to the success of the CMS detector. CMS, through the collaboration board (CB), would like to recognize those who have made an unique and outstanding personal contribution to this achievement.

PhD Thesis Award

The CMS Thesis Award is presented each year by the Chair of the Collaboration Board at the CMS week in June. Qualifying theses must have been submitted to a CMS member institution as partial fulfillment of the Ph.D. requirements, and also to the CMS Secretariat, between August 1 of the previous calendar year and July 31 of the award year.

Selections are made by a committee appointed by the Chair of the Collaboration Board. Theses written on any CMS-related work (physics analysis, simulation, computing, detector development, engineering, etc.) are eligible for nomination. Theses are judged on content (including impact within CMS and in the HEP field in general), originality, and clarity of writing.

Young Researcher’s Medal and Prize

The CMS Young Researcher Prize is intended to recognize outstanding achievements of the young members of CMS. The Prize shall be awarded annually to at least three young members of CMS who have made a most significant and sustained contribution in CMS over many years in any area (hardware, software, technical, analysis). The prize will comprise a cash sum of CHF 2500 and a medal for each recipient.

The recipients shall normally have less than eight years of experience after gaining their Ph.D. in physics or 10 years of work experience for other areas.

Industry Awards

Starting from the year 2000 the CMS Collaboration is also honoring industrial companies that have made outstanding contributions to the construction of the experiment with the CMS Gold Award. Companies who have demonstrated their excellence and engagement and who provide parts within specifications and on schedule are considered for this award.

Firms who, in addition, have made special efforts and taken initiative to work out technically and/or commercially better products are honored with the CMS Crystal Award. Companies who have explored novel technologies and collaborated in R&D programs with CMS are candidates for this award.

Detector Awards

The annual CMS Detector Awards are an acknowledgement to the CMS members that recently gave or are currently giving substantial and outstanding contributions to the project and construction of CMS detectors or parts of them, or in general implementations of upgrade projects.